PDA

View Full Version : 45 colt reloading

pahermit
03-22-2019, 02:22 PM
Was going to order a set of 45 colt dies for my rossi 92.As i looked the info about the dies i saw that the roll crimp die was for only 452 heads and not for 454 heads.Now i have been loading 45 colt for over 25 years on a dillon sq deal.Always ysed 452 heads for all my 45 revolvers,never heard anything before about useing a different roll crimp die for 454 heads.Now am confused about what dies to use.[NOTE] I want to use my turret press for the rossi,not the dillon.

cwlongshot
03-22-2019, 02:29 PM
I wouldnt worry too much. In the world today of 45 Colt, folks have forgotten it was once a 454, and probably never knew folks like us still size lead boolets to 454 regularly. [smilie=b:

I load .454 all the time and never had had issue with RCBS Redding or Lyman 45 colt dies crimping. (Either Roll or Taper crimps.)

CW

Der Gebirgsjager
03-22-2019, 02:51 PM
Try a Lee Factory Crimp die. It will put a satisfactory squeeze on either diameter, and the amount of crimp is easily adjusted. Plus, there's the advantage that if the reloaded cartridge will enter and exit the carbide ring that is an integral part of the die it's guaranteed to chamber.

DougGuy
03-22-2019, 03:14 PM
Try a Lee Factory Crimp die. It will put a satisfactory squeeze on either diameter, and the amount of crimp is easily adjusted. Plus, there's the advantage that if the reloaded cartridge will enter and exit the carbide ring that is an integral part of the die it's guaranteed to chamber.

This is NOT the die you want to use. It WILL size a .452" down in the case, what do you think it will do to a .454?"