PDA

View Full Version : Argentine 43 Spanish rolling block ?

Tomeguns
03-11-2019, 08:28 AM
Hi all,
I'm new to the forum, so I would like to say hello. I do have a question which lead me here, I have bought a Rolling block I would like to reload for, I was told it is 43 Spanish , from going through books I have positively identified it as a Argentine rolling block that was 43 Spanish. So what I have read that the ones that had the markings removed from the knoxform and tang were converted to Mannlicher rounds, which my markings are removed. What I did was buy a Cartridge of the world book and cerrosafe cast the chamber but I'm a little confused on results and wondered if I could pick your brains a little. the casting did come out a bottleneck cartridge and here were the results. Also measured the muzzle of barrel it was .436.
Casting=
1. base= .528
2. shoulder= .517
3. neck = .466
4. Neck to Lands= .869
5 Land measured = .445
6 Overall length to lands = 2.56
I am new to these older cartridges and would like to know for sure if it is 43 Spanish. or what I should look for.

Jedman
03-11-2019, 09:37 AM
Hello and welcome ! You didn't give approximate lengths from the rim to shoulder length but from what you have it sounds like a 43 Spanish.
Most all of the Argentine RB's I have seen have all been 43 Spanish.
Hope you can get set up and shoot it, enjoy !

Jedman

Tomeguns
03-11-2019, 09:48 AM
Hi Jedman
Thanks for the reply, from the rim to shoulder I measured 1.69 if my memory serves me.

marlinman93
03-11-2019, 10:55 AM
There are two .43 Spanish. The regular .43 Spanish which is similar to the parent case of .44-77SBN, and the .43 Spanish Reformado. Your measurements would make yours the Reformado, not the regular .43 Spanish.