PDA

View Full Version : 22 Long Rifle Lead and Casting?

tray999
02-19-2019, 12:26 PM
First let me state that I am new to casting so I have a newb question..... I shoot 22 long rifle year round in my garage and have a three gallon bucket worth of 22 bullet lead collected from my trap. There is a mix of paper from the targets mixed in with the 22 lead. A fair amount of the lead is almost powder from hitting the angled AR500 steel. I want to use the lead to cast for my 45 Colt guns. Want would you all suggest before I start...... I have everything I need to start making ingots, but have not seen anything about using 22 lead for casting.

Thanks!

lightman
02-19-2019, 12:40 PM
Welcome Aboard! Your 22 lead is going to be soft. You probably need to add some antimony and tin. Fit is more important than hardness but you do need a certain amount or hardness. Someone will probably be along soon with recommendations. The paper won't hurt anything when you start melting it down except that it will smoke and maybe burn.

mdi
02-19-2019, 12:43 PM
I understand rimfire bullets are pretty soft, running 8-9 BHN. I would ask on the Lead and Alloys forum for info for hardening it up. I would add tin, but don't have a ratio handy (I have used 20-1 and 16-1 for my low pressure handgun bullets). For now, I'd melt and clean it up then cast some ingots.

Outpost75
02-19-2019, 12:55 PM