PDA

View Full Version : Killed a deer with a 9mm

43PU
11-27-2018, 12:56 AM
Well I finally killed a deer with a 9mm rifle, I have been wanting to do this for several years. She came around a tree at 68 yards and put one through her neck she dropped in her tracks,

So I have been practicing with my Ruger PC9 for about 8 months (15,000 rounds+) and I can hit a 3” plate at 100 yards every time off hand I’m using a Lucid 2.5 MOA red dot. So I did some experiments I posted on here and on another forum the same information and same projectiles same velocity the only difference I made was replaced 9mm with 357 mag my data is a Mihec mood .358 135 round flat PC over 3.8 of bullseye velocity out of my rifle is 1200FPS
So I found out if I posted that it was a 357 mag I had a 90% agreement on yeah that should do great out to 75 yards. But when I posted it was a 9mm I had a 90% disapproval rate.. funny

I don’t know if I would shoot a deer in the vitals at over 50 yards but I DO NOT feel under gunner with this rifle. Next year I’m going to put a shallow cup point and go for the vitals

Thanks for reading
43PU

Chainsaw.
11-27-2018, 01:18 AM
You have clearly proven one thing. That deer didn’t get the memo that 9mm wasn’t supposed to kill her.

Sounds like the same knuckleheads I used to argue with in Texas who would rant an rave that a .243 was the bare minimum to kill all those mighty #100 white tail does.

Bigslug
11-27-2018, 02:08 AM
Just don't tell them it's a 9mm. Call it a .35 Whelan minus-P-minus and they'll be fine.[smilie=1:

Rcmaveric
11-27-2018, 02:11 AM
I have been wanting a 9mm Carbine.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

PS Paul
11-27-2018, 02:27 AM
I thought 9mm would bounce off their armor. Huh. Things to ponder, man. Things to ponder.

knifemaker
11-27-2018, 03:17 AM