PDA

View Full Version : What can I do with this bore?

Caseylain
11-21-2018, 07:50 PM

Hi.

I'm kind of new to shooting cast and powder coated bullets. I just got this old Mosin M44. Had a really dark, rusted up barrel. I was able to clean it up a good bit after plugging the barrel and filling it with evapo-rust, then rinsing it and running a bore snake with CLP through it many many times. Unfortunately my Camera just refuses to take a good bore pic so this is the best I can come up with. There are a few visible pits in the lands near the muzzle end that I couldn't get in the picture.

Anyway, my question is will I be able to shoot cast boolits out of this gun? How about powder coated boolits? plated boolits? I read that boolits coated in alox worked for some folks with rough bores.

This gun has one of the smoothest actions on a Mosin I've seen, and bubba's had his way with the trigger because it has no travel or creep. Just wall and break. I really want this thing to be a shooter but I have to contend with this sewer pipe barrel. Any help is appreciated. Thanks guys.

John McCorkle
11-21-2018, 07:53 PM
Eeesh, I guess it depends on what you are expecting when you say "shooter". It'll go bang and it may print a group of sorts but short of that you may not know till you try out ....with that pitting though I wouldn't get my hopes up for great results...and I'd expect some leading

Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk

Caseylain
11-21-2018, 08:00 PM
Yeah group size isn't as important as not getting leading. Not a fan of scrubbing lead from a barrel.

merlin101
11-21-2018, 08:26 PM
WOW that is bad! I wonder if you could polish it up some by shooting a few cast with valve grinding compound on them, what do you have to lose?

Stephen Cohen
11-21-2018, 08:31 PM