PDA

View Full Version : woodstove or pellet stove

Battis
10-21-2018, 09:23 PM
I've been heating with wood since 1984. I buy green wood in the spring. This year it was $260 a cord, which is cheap for this area. Lately, the past few years, I've been thinking about switching to a pellet stove. I know that there are pros and cons to each.
Any opinions?

rancher1913
10-21-2018, 09:35 PM
the pellet stoves are a more consistent, cleaner (smoke, dust, etc) heat and most will go 12 hours on a bin easy. if you buy pellets when they are sale it can be cheaper than buying wood. we have gobs of dead trees on our property so we still burn wood but if I had to buy wood, the pellet stove is the way I would go. you might look into the corn/pellet stoves, they can burn either so you use which ever is cheaper that year. the corn burns hotter than the pellets.

buckwheatpaul
10-21-2018, 09:35 PM
We use both. We cut and split our own wood yet we have three pellet stoves. The pellet stoves are great. Two are on a thermostat and you set the temp and the pellet stove will turn on when it needs to warm up to the set temp. It will turn off and when the temp drops 5 degrees it will reignite. They have been very low maintenance. They are extremely fuel efficient. The only downside for us is the power it takes to run them. They use very little power but if the power goes out the stoves will not work. We put ours on a generator circuit so we always have a power source. The third stove is in the man cave and it is plain ol' one that you have 5 power sets with three different heat levels. Works great as well.

One ton of pellets equal 1-1/2 cords of wood and runs about $190.00 on sale in our part of the country......so good luck and good hunting.....Paul

bdicki
10-21-2018, 09:57 PM
Check out rice coal stoves, they work like a pellet stove.

smoked turkey
10-21-2018, 10:08 PM