PDA

View Full Version : .40 S&W Usability for Hunting??

Arisaka99
10-08-2018, 09:28 AM
Hey Guys!

How feasible is it to hunt deer with a .40 S&W?

I figured with close broadside shots and good defensive rounds, it wouldn't be too difficult.

Has anyone done it? How well does it work?

Happy Hunting!

scattershot
10-08-2018, 09:48 AM
Deer have been killed with a .22. I have a friend who killed one with a .380. Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.

Neverhome
10-08-2018, 09:57 AM
Never done it personally but tons are killed with 10mm auto. Shorten the distance and it should be essentially the same. Strict broadside heart lung shot should be fine. Treat it like hunting with a bow.

contender1
10-08-2018, 10:15 AM
"Deer have been killed with a .22. I have a friend who killed one with a .380. Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should."

Quoted for importance.

I'm a Hunter Safety Instructor. As part of my classes,, I teach Ethics. To be an ethical hunter,, one should strive for a clean, quick kill. I shoot a .40 cal in a revolver in competition. I also own a few 10mm guns,, all in revolvers. I also have a semi-auto in .40 cal. I also handgun hunt almost exclusively. As such,, I match the caliber, gun, AND ammo to the animal I'm planning on hunting. Animals can present difficult shots, and they can be harder to kill.
So,, I ask people in my classes,,, if you are hunting,,, say whitetail deer,,, and you are not SURE you have the best gun, caliber & ammo to do a clean, quick kill,,, what will you do if a monster, record book buck walks out on you? ESPECIALLY if the angle, distance or whatever is marginal,,, will you be able to NOT shoot because of the limitations you may have?
I follow that with a simple comment. Make sure you have enough gun to allow for human mistakes.