PDA

View Full Version : ok i am still learning

chewie
09-26-2008, 05:53 PM
where does lead come from or how is it made?

chewie

oneokie
09-26-2008, 06:07 PM
Several sources for lead.

Galena is lead bearing ore. Galena is a square to rectangular shaped crystal.

Lead is a by-product of silver mining/refining.

It is also a by/co-product of zinc mining/refining.

Also, it is depleted Uranium, 0% radioactivity left.

beagle
09-26-2008, 07:22 PM
Now, thanks to the tree huggers, most lead is from recycled sources and I imagine very little is mined anymore but it's out there. Illinois as well as I recall has huge deposits.

No matter what the EPA does, lead will be around for all of our lifetime. Us casters just have to get innovative about reclaiming it before the recyclers get to it./beagle

Blammer
09-26-2008, 07:27 PM
that's easy, lead comes from the tire shop... :)

mooman76
09-26-2008, 07:57 PM
I thought they extracted it from chinese toys!

AZ-Stew
09-27-2008, 12:48 AM
High school chemistry class stuff.

Lead is a chemical Element, just as are Hydrogen, Oxygen, Nitrogen, Silver, Gold, Mercury, Tin, Antimony, Sulfur, Iron, Aluminum, Carbon, and a near hundred others. A chemical element is something that can't be broken down into smaller parts that have distinct characteristics. An element's atoms are unique. All atoms in a theoretical pure lead ingot are identical. See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chemical_element

Compounds are chemical combinations of elements, such as H2O (water, which is 2 Hydrogen atoms (H2) and one Oxygen atom (O)) or H2SO4 (Sulfuric Acid, 2 Hydrogen, 1 Sulfur and 4 Oxygen) or CO2 (Carbon Dioxide, 1 Carbon and 2 Oxygen). The atoms of the different elements in the compound are linked together.