PDA

View Full Version : To wad or not to wad.

littlejack
09-26-2008, 11:02 AM
Fella's:
I'm new to the black powder loading. I've been loading smokless for over 40 years.
Can someone tell me if it is a necessity to use the over the powder wad or not.
I punch mine for my 45-70 from a .050 tablet back using a 7/16" hole punch.
I have been told that the wads were necessary to protect the base of the bullet. Is this the only reason to use one, or do people use them for "light" loads to get rid of the air space. A fella on one of the other forums said that the fouling could be worse without the wad.
Also, can someone explain how the drop tubes work. I plan on making one today but how can they pack the powder better than me tapping the case of powder on the table or touching the case on the side of my vibrator case cleaner. I have even heard of people touching the case on an electric shaver to settle the powder.
Good loadin to you all.
Jack

Gussy
09-26-2008, 11:57 AM
wads?? try it both ways. I have a friend that only uses wax paper. Try all types of wads and thickness. Some of my rifles like hdpe and some like fiber??????? No way of knowing why.

Drop tube? The falling grains just pack in better. I've tried the other methods and combinations of them. I do use a compression die. It all comes down to how much powder you want in the case. And... that is determined by what the rifle likes for best accuracy.

You didn't mention what powder you were using or primers.

Fouling control is a whole subject by itself and the wad will have little to do with it as far as I can tell. You need to either wipe or blow tube. Both work and under some conditions (high heat and dry) wiping seems to have the edge.

Don't forget the black powder lube. It is a main factor in fouling. Many folks use SPG and it's a good starting point.

Last, only change one thing at a time.

If it was easy, they'd have called it golf.

montana_charlie
09-26-2008, 02:00 PM