PDA

View Full Version : Help me load for a 1911

Mauser48
09-17-2018, 01:16 AM
Hey guys, just picked up my first 1911, a Springfield trp. I haven't picked the gun up yet so I cant get any bore measurements or anything like that quite yet. What I have to work with is a lyman 452374 mold, 700x, and I just picked up some 231. I mainly want to use the 700x because I have a lot of it and I've heard it's pretty good in 45, but I also picked up the 231 as a backup so if I didn't get what I wanted with the 700x I knew a lot of people have used 231 with good results. Also it's just nice to use something that meters good every once in awhile. Here are my questions, should I get a 451 or 452 lubersizer die? I know this is mostly gun specific but I'd like to hear what the majority says. What about oal? I know not all .45 round nose bullets are alike so I'd like to see what's working for most of you. Beyond that, any pet loads with this bullet and these powders? This is my first time loading .45. Did I pick a good bullet for this cartridge. I didn't hear great things about Lee's 230 grain round nose bullet but I remember hearing about the lyman mold being very close to a gi ball bullet. My use for this load is just weekend plinking. Please let me know what works good for you guys!

LUCKYDAWG13
09-17-2018, 06:03 AM
I use a Lyman 230gr mold don't remember the number with 4.8 gr of 231.

NC_JEFF
09-17-2018, 06:15 AM
Mauser get yourself a factory round, run the seating and crimp die down against it and you have yourself a starting point as far as the amount of crimp and COAL. You'll enjoy the 45ACP for many years.

BNE
09-17-2018, 06:34 AM
4.0 grains of Hogdon Clays is my go to load.

45 is my favorite, but it can be picky to get set up on. That being said, once you figure out how much to Bell the cases, and how much to crimp, it works fine. Starting with a factory round as suggested above is a good idea.

EMR
09-17-2018, 06:46 AM