PDA

View Full Version : .32 H&R Magnum article in Handloader Magazine this month....

Harry O
09-13-2018, 08:40 PM
Just got my issue today. Went first to the .32 H&R Magnum article (.30-06 Garand article next). A few notes:

1) The author says, "I have been using select +P loads in multiple revolvers for 34 years and have never experienced a single case failure...other than normal cracking that is associated with cases being reloaded many times." Sounds like he got started at the very beginning, but I had a VERY bad time with factory Federal cases splitting full length on the first or second firing for several years. I have talked with many other .32 Mag users that report the same thing. I almost dropped that caliber because of that. Luckily, Starline started making them with brass that did not split and I started gathering other .32 Mags about me (and have been very happy I did).

2) The author says, "Some maximum +P loads exhibited sticky extraction in the Model 331 Airlite Ti." I had the same problem with sticky, but I never tried +P loads in it. I found (through several experiments) that Ti was extremely sensitive to powder/lube residue. Ti is not nearly as slick as steel or even stainless steel. I went to the cleanest powder I knew (W231) and jacketed 85gr Hornady XTP's (no separate lube). That took care of the problem. I do not use dirtier powders or lead bullets with lube on them anymore in that particular gun. I even bought 200 nickel plated brass cases. I am not sure if they extract/eject easier, but it is easier to keep the loads apart that way.