PDA

View Full Version : Do you crimp your boolits if shot in single shot firearms?

Kylongrifle32
09-09-2018, 06:39 PM
I have been shooting and loading for T/C contenders for 30 years now but up till now I have only used j- bullets with out crimping them.

I now have a 32/20 and a 30 herrett that I want to use to harvest antlerless deer with and do this with boolits that I have cast. So far the cast boolits I have tried do not come close to the accuracy of any j-bullets I have put thru either barrel. The cast boolits I have tried so far are Lee 309-120-RN and thier 309-150-FRN. I gave shot them with and with out gas checks. Both perform better with gc's applied. All we're shot with out crimping. Would crimping effect the accuracy of a bullet in any way?

mattw
09-09-2018, 06:44 PM
Yes, helps maintain good ignition and consistent pressure burns.

jmort
09-09-2018, 06:48 PM
I crimp everything

Rick Hodges
09-09-2018, 06:48 PM
The only way to know for sure is to try. I don't crimp bolt action or single shot rifle ammo as a rule. I do for semi auto's and my 45/70 lever gun. If I could find acceptable accuracy and power without a crimp I would use that and eliminate another variable in crimping.
How fast are you trying to drive the cast boolits? I can't use the same load for cast and jkt. in my 45/70.

MT Gianni
09-09-2018, 06:51 PM
There are some powders I load with heavy bullets and a heavy crimp regardless of firearm. Other than that my contender loads just get the bevel flattened. I believe it makes for a more gentle release. I would not suspect that a lack of crimp would cause accuracy issues with the cartridges listed. I would expect better results with a heavier bullet, 150-170 gr and slower than jacketed, might bring in the accuracy.

high standard 40
09-09-2018, 07:25 PM