PDA

View Full Version : 43 Mauser - PP Bullet size?

arclight
09-25-2008, 11:22 AM
Hi all,

I'd like to test out some Paper Patch loads in my .43 Mauser. I have the Lyman .446 Mold, and that bullet will barely chamber unless I post-size the loaded round.

I'm new to paper patching. Can someone give me a suggested boolit to start with? Maybe a .440 or the smaller .43 Spanish slug?

Arclight

45 2.1
09-25-2008, 11:39 AM
Hi all,

I'd like to test out some Paper Patch loads in my .43 Mauser. I have the Lyman .446 Mold, and that bullet will barely chamber unless I post-size the loaded round.

I'm new to paper patching. Can someone give me a suggested boolit to start with? Maybe a .440 or the smaller .43 Spanish slug?

Arclight

Measure that round that will barely chamber on the neck. Whatever that is subtract 2 case neck wall thicknesses and 4 patching paper thicknesses then add 0.001". That is your boolit size pre patched. The Lyman 43 spanish slug casts out at 0.440" for me and patched with two wraps of 9 lb. onionskin (0.002" thickness) paper gives 0.447" patched diameter. My rifle will accept a 0.450" boolit also, yours would seem to have a smaller throat in it. Make sure to engrave the loaded patched boolit into the throat origin into the rifling some. Patched boolits won't tolerate a jump to the rifling if you want accuracy.

docone31
09-25-2008, 11:47 AM
I do not if this helps.
I have a .303 British Smelly. The reccomended jacketed bullet is .311. My bore is loose, it prefers .312 jacketed.
When I tried paper patching, it was reccomended I try .308, wrapped with two wraps of Meade Traceing Paper. That gave me .3125.
When I fired the reccomended sizing cast, I got 20ft groups. When I fired the paper patched .3125, I got 5ft groups.
That said, I tried 3 wraps of Meade Traceing paper. I got 3" groups with what would be considered a stout load for lead. Paper does make a difference.