PDA

View Full Version : Flux question

Mcliff1971
08-30-2018, 08:15 AM
Hello all!

Complete casting newbie here! I was watching a video on YouTube of a guy making his own Lyman#2 alloy recipe. He melted the antimony first, then added the lead. After adding the lead he added in flux. All of this made perfect sense to me giving the different melting points of the two metals and adding flux to separate the good from the crud also makes sense. My question is - after he added the flux, he waited for a heavy smoke to form and then lit the fumes on fire with a stick lighter. I assume he was doing so to burn off combustible contaminants? Couldn't he just wait for the crud to form on the top and scoop it off or is the burning off step required?

Thanks in advance for shared insight!

Mike

Dusty Bannister
08-30-2018, 08:28 AM
Burning off the smoke is not required, but generally it is desired. Do you want to smoke up your neighborhood and have folks stop by to see what you are doing? Just consider it a courtesy to those sharing your area. Dusty

Mcliff1971
08-30-2018, 08:39 AM
Burning off the smoke is not required, but generally it is desired. Do you want to smoke up your neighborhood and have folks stop by to see what you are doing? Just consider it a courtesy to those sharing your area. Dusty

Thanks Dusty! Makes perfect sense!

LenH
08-30-2018, 08:43 AM
When I render range lead I use wood shavings and candle wax for fluxing. It is very smoky until the wax catches fire. I do this 3 or 4 times to get as much crud out as possible.
I generally do this early on a Saturday morning and my neighbors are rarely up that early.

cwlongshot
08-30-2018, 09:12 AM
Not to mention it can and will sometimes flame off by itself... If that happens when your mitt is in there scooping... well not so good.

CW

mattw
08-30-2018, 09:18 AM
Not to mention it can and will sometimes flame off by itself... If that happens when your mitt is in there scooping... well not so good.

CW