PDA

View Full Version : Rust protecting moulds

KirkD
09-14-2008, 05:02 PM
I'm new at casting and this question has probably been addressed a hundred times, but after I'm done casting and got my mould cleaned up, what do I put on it to protect it from rusting? Is Vaseline good? What about regular engine oil? I see down below the post about vacume sealing your moulds in a zip lock bag, but I don't have one of those little machines.

WildmanJack
09-14-2008, 05:10 PM
Kirkd, If I were you I'd go to my local drug store and ask the pharmacist to save you some "silica gel" caps. They're placed in all medicine bottles prior to them dispensing your prescription. Take you molds, "DON'T PUT ANY OIL OR LUBE ON THEM" put them in a double zip lock baggie andinclude a few of those silica gel thingies from the drug store. You won't have any problems. I live in South West Florida and that's how I keep mine. No rust, no nothing...
Good luck,
Jack

KirkD
09-14-2008, 05:25 PM
Jack, that sounds like a good idea. It's not too humid where I live up here in Canada, so that should do the trick. Thanks.

Calamity Jake
09-14-2008, 05:39 PM
I store all my moulds in military 50 cal ammo cans with a silica pak. NO RUST

Pitmaster
09-14-2008, 05:51 PM
What about using a little macaroni/pasta or rice in a ziploc bag to absorb the moisture?

imashooter2
09-14-2008, 06:12 PM
What about using a little macaroni/pasta or rice in a ziploc bag to absorb the moisture?

If macaroni/pasta or rice absorbed water from the air, you could cook them by leaving them out on the counter.

Instant coffee will work as a desiccant, but it's pretty messy.

Along with the Pharmacist suggestion above, shoe stores get a desiccant pack in every shoe box. They throw out hundreds of packets a week.

mooman76
09-14-2008, 06:16 PM