PDA

View Full Version : What is " TRACERLAB " LEAD ??

Hootmix
04-15-2018, 02:41 PM
A friend is moving and ask me if I had any use for some "lead "( say what ? ) gave me some blocks that are tounge & groved to fit together ( 75 lbs. ) . Stamped " Tracerlab " my H-5 pencil will not scratch it !!! yup,,, rings when y'a whack it ,, think it came out of a LAB ,,, LINO- MONO- ?? still has some red paint on it . Any guess's of how hard this stuff is ??

coffee's ready,,, Hootmix .

Petrol & Powder
04-15-2018, 03:07 PM
I have no idea how hard that would be but it was likely shielding for some type of instrument.

Tracerlab is a trade name for a company that made radiation detectors and other equipment.

http://national-radiation-instrument-catalog.com/new_page_37.htm

I'm surprised it isn't pure lead but they may have intentionally alloyed it for some structural reasons.

Der Gebirgsjager
04-15-2018, 03:26 PM
I worked in the security field in the middle 1960s and Tracerlab was one of our accounts located on Wright Ave. in Richmond, CA. The lead bricks were used to isolate radioactive sources which were used to calibrate detection and monitoring instruments that they produced. I never saw any that was painted red -- it was all grey lead color. Odd to see that pop up after all of these years.

Right after I posted this reply it struck me that you might want to check for the radiation level of the lead with a Geiger Counter. It may be painted red for a reason. When I worked there several of the employees were shooters and the lead was discussed fairly often. I learned that for the company's purposes the best lead was salvaged from the keels of ships that had sunk early in WW II or prior to the war as it had been the first and easiest to mine, and it's natural radioactive level was extremely low, but the lead mined later had a radiation level that interfered with their instruments.

Hootmix
04-15-2018, 03:44 PM