PDA

View Full Version : Does heat affect size of bullets?

spurrit
09-08-2008, 06:20 PM
I'm just getting into casting bullets, and have noticed that some are undersized and will pretty much fall through the sizer die, while some are oversized to the point that it takes some effort to push them through, using my Lee hand press. Since they all come from the same batch of lead, the only variables I can think of would have to do with heat~the temperature of the mold and the temperature of the pot. Is a variation in temperature to blame for the variation in size?

Right now, I'm using a cast iron pan over a turkey fryer. I don't have a lead thermometer yet. I'm dropping the bullets directly from the mold to a bucket of water. Any help from the BTDT crowd appreciated!

Now, I'm off to :Fire: ! ! !

montana_charlie
09-08-2008, 06:27 PM
If you are just getting started, you may not be squeezing on the mould handles the same amount each time you fill the mould. A 'light' grip can result in fatter bullets.

You didn't say, but I'm assuming all bullets came out of a single cavity mould. If there is more than one cavity...that may be the answer.
CM

Baron von Trollwhack
09-08-2008, 06:37 PM
I think casting temperature does affect cast bullet size. Easy for you to test your own efforts. Start casting as normal and put your bullets in a line and measure them when cool. Of course you already know mold/lead temperature affacts how well the bullita fall out of the mould. BvT

44man
09-08-2008, 09:18 PM
It indeed does. A cool mold and lead will give smaller boolits. Within the right range of temperature, the mold will expand more and cast larger boolits. Then after the mold is as large as it can expand and the lead gets too hot, boolits will shrink more and cast small again.
Once everything is right for the alloy, a steady rhythm has to be maintained.

spurrit
09-08-2008, 09:59 PM