PDA

View Full Version : Ovideo Mauser

richhodg66
04-07-2018, 11:06 PM
How are these actions as opposed to other 93 Mausers?

A guy at a local gun show this afternoon had one that had been decently sporterized, reasonably nice walnut stock, Fajen or Bishop I think, some kind of civilian sights (open, I'll have to have something else) and the bore looked good. Looked to me if it had a peep sight on it, would be a handy rifle for the woods.

It was a cheap asking price and pretty sure tomorrow afternoon, I could have it for cheaper. I recently started playing around with a better sporterized 93 Mauser in 7x57 and really like it. As a result, I am beginning to binge load 7x57, gathered a lot of brass, etc, need to cast a bunch more bullets. I'd like to have that other rifle if it's cheap enough and if the actions are sound enough. I've heard the Spanish ones aren't up to par, is that true?

HangFireW8
04-07-2018, 11:36 PM
Oviedo's are well made but have a reputation for soft steel. The primary thing you need to inspect for is excessive headspace caused by locking lug setback. Used within reasonable pressure limitations, they can last night forever. I'm not slamming Oviedo's. Really, every old Mauser should be checked for locking lug setback and headspace, even the '98's.

Also all '93 Mausers are old and have been used with corrosive ammo, and many have cleaning damage, which may not be obvious but usually manifests itself in a cone-shaped muzzle the last several inches, and/or an overly rounded crown. This can be subtle but always results in piss-poor accuracy.

richhodg66
04-07-2018, 11:44 PM