PDA

View Full Version : Electronics on older Bullet Master

hunter74
03-30-2018, 05:38 AM
As some of you know I have an older Bullet Master. Lately I had to change some of the electronics. I've installed 4 new heating elements, new thermocouples and I changed out one of the temp controllers controlling the pouring side of the pot, after it broke. I here is the problem now at hand..... The unit I got from fleabay broke again after a few times used. It's locked on open so it's heating at full blast all the time. The unit I'm in need of are the Chromalox 3910-11204 and they are hard to find! Magma no longer have them since they have changed most of the components in the contol box, on their new machines.

In my opinion I have two options.

1. Buy a now complete control box from Magma with all new electronics. That would set me back about 1100 USDs plus shipping and import tax.

2. Get other components that would work as temp controller. I'm thinking MyPin and SSR right? There's no SSR in the box today. I guess this is built into the Chromalox unit. Right? .

Option 2 is clearly the most cost effective route.... I'm in no way competent to know how to wire this, or if this could work.

If I post a pic of the wiring of the chromalox unit...... I have a Mypin 220v 40 A SSR laying around...... I have a 220V in my shop.

Could some of you electrician guru guys please come up with something that would work and maybe draw up a wiring diagram for me? I know there's a lot of competence in here....

Sent fra min SM-G930F via Tapatalk

hunter74
03-30-2018, 06:12 AM
Posting a pic of the backside of the Chromalox unit. (Please note that I have the wires for the thermocouple reversed. This is an old pic)

Place 3 & 4 are maked 'optional'. I've not tried to move wires 1 and 2 over here.... Could that work or are these two connections used for something else? Could I hook my SSR up to this unit to take over a relay part that's broken?