PDA

View Full Version : What size wire for a PID

RAK2018
03-20-2018, 10:10 AM
Does it matter what size wire you use to wire up a PID.

lightman
03-20-2018, 10:27 AM
I'm not a PID expert but yes, it matters. The supply wire from the source and the load wire from the SSR need to be big enough for the intended load. Anywhere from #16, #14 or #12 would work. I'm sure some of the guys that build them will be along soon.

georgerkahn
03-20-2018, 11:00 AM
As a retired electronics tech, the "rule of thumb" we used in the shop was:
10 gauge wire can safely carry 30 amperes
12 gauge wire can safely carry 20 amperes
14 gauge wire can safely carry 15 amperes
16 gauge wire can safely carry 10 amperes
18 gauge wire can safely handle 8 amperes
As writ, this was/is a guide. You need determine the amperage (current) being used -- very simply, the current in amperes may be determined by the voltage divided by the resistance to it. Notated as "Ohms Law" this is I = E/R -- where I is current in amperes, E is voltage, and R is resistance.
My own corollary -- hopefully preventing either insulation melt-down or fire -- is, "when in doubt go one wire size bigger".
I have witnessed soooo many devices where builder/designer saved a very few pennies by employing too small for job wires... It DOES matter what size wire you use for any electical device/circuit!

If I was wiring a PID device "blind", assuming it was 110V (for 220V, the wire sizes would need be 1/2 the size as for 110V), and you were controlling, say, a 1,200 watt pot -- then you can work backwards from another formula: P=AV -- power in watts equals amperes times volts. You know volts is 110, and watts is 1,200; ergo , giving 10.9 amperes. Hence, I'd have no wires in MY ciruit smaller than fourteen gauge.

Hope this helps, and good luck!
geo

Mike W1
03-20-2018, 12:08 PM
George hit it on the head!

Paper Puncher
03-20-2018, 12:19 PM
Most of use use the term "PID" to refer to the entire device being used to control temperature.