PDA

View Full Version : Concealed Carry - Best Holsters?

jim4065
09-03-2008, 11:37 PM
Just getting into this - only took 10 days to get the license - maybe 'cause I used to work for the ASP. Aside from all that:

The handguns will be a Ruger LCP, Kahr CW40 and a S&W 642 (for starters). I'm too damn fat for IWB, and seem to have problems with the "Pocket Carry" - it's very hard to draw while seated. Bought a cross-draw Bullard for the Smith but even that's tough with a seat belt on.

I have little experience with shoulder rigs, but a bit of reading seems to show a dearth of products for fat guys. The more famous brands (like Galco) are kind of pricey to learn on, and the cheaper lines don't seem to go over 48". I don't mind spending the money - once. Anyone have some knowledge of shoulder holsters for "big people"? :roll:

Dale53
09-04-2008, 12:03 AM
A few months back, Mike Venturino had an excellent article on Concealed Carry for Large People. I believe that this article was in "American Handgunner". It gave "real world" specifics and should be useful to most "bigger people".

Dale53

danski26
09-04-2008, 12:50 AM
How big are ya? I'm 6'00" 240 and an ankle holster works very nice for the small guns for me. Just get the best one you can afford. Those ankle holsters get a lot of moving around done with them. Get el cheapo and watch your piece slide across the floor one day!!!!

Otherwise a SOB or strong-side holster works fine in all weather that you can wear a concealing garment over it.

jim4065
09-04-2008, 11:03 AM
Thanks for the lead on Venturino's article. Got to try an IWB before I pop out the $150 for an XL Miami Classic. Never cared for Hawaiian shirts - but it may be the best choice.