PDA

View Full Version : Sludge-like Lead

stare-decisis
09-03-2008, 01:38 AM
HI,
I've been having a problem lately w/my casting and I thought you Gents could help out as I am still a rookie when it comes to my own boolits.
This last particular batch of lead-heated in a Lee furnace, ladled out to a six cavity Lee .40 cal 175 gr Mold using mostly WW w/some lead shot mixed in, was heated to approx 730 degrees. after a few turns I noticed the mold wasn't filling out and then that the ladle was becoming "gunked" up, almost like a sledge type feel to it.
I fluxed a couple times w/some candle wax but this problem kept coming back.
The ladle would gunk up and not pour-
http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii276/stare-decisis/DSCF6840.jpg
This is what the crud looked like when i tossed it to the floor-
http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii276/stare-decisis/DSCF6837.jpg
Its solid but is kind of crumbly...
After searching and looking on this forum it seems maybe I put in a few Zinc WW's that got melted down and sledged everything up? Or maybe the ladle wasn't hot enough? I hate to throw out this bit of lead but I have gotten little boolits for my time w/this batch. Or not fluxing well enough? Or the Heater is not heating to what it says it is?

Jon K
09-03-2008, 01:49 AM
Did you check the temp with a thermometer, or just read the dial on the pot?

The pics looks to me like it's not up to temp.

Jon

DLCTEX
09-03-2008, 02:46 AM
If you melt it again and you get lumps like oatmeal on top, skim off the zinc. then turn the heat up. But it really looks as if it's just not hot enough. DALE

JeffinNZ
09-03-2008, 05:34 AM
Zinc I say.

Willbird
09-03-2008, 05:58 AM
730 is rather low, especially for ladle pouring. I run my RCBS promelt wide open. When ingots are added to even a 1000 degree pot the lead can get slushy, and it acts about like you describe. My first suggestion, is to turn the heat up :-).