PDA

View Full Version : Neat trick to save money

Fly
02-19-2018, 02:05 PM
Guys I have been shooting black powder for so many years I can't count. Every now & then a new trick
I learn. This maybe the best I have seen for cap & ball revolvers. We know caps are so expensive now days.
There the make a cap deals out there & so on. But being I also load my own cartridge guns it has amazed
me how cheap pistol primers are compared to black powder caps. Well check this out my friends.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUfHjX6gAQA

Fly:bigsmyl2:

Eddie2002
02-19-2018, 02:25 PM
Great tip, wonder if it would work on a rifle? Think I have a couple packs of magnum small pistol primers left, I'll give it a try on my CVA Hawkens.

Fly
02-19-2018, 02:30 PM
I can't see why not. I wondered the same.

Fly

rodwha
02-19-2018, 02:35 PM
Very nice! Sure wish I knew that years back when accessories were nearly impossible to find for quite some time. It’s why I have a set of nipples for my ROA that use large primers. Thanks Doak!

sharps4590
02-19-2018, 03:36 PM
Well, isn't that clever! Just a shame all my C&B revolvers are Colts...:cry:

Artful
02-19-2018, 04:09 PM
Well, isn't that clever! Just a shame all my C&B revolvers are Colts...:cry:

What was it the man said "you can shorten your nipples to use this method on Colt replica's"

Maven
02-19-2018, 04:43 PM
All, Instead of using a folding knife to cut the tubing, why not use a single edge razor blade, or if volume is what you need, one of these: https://www.modeltrainstuff.com/NWSL-The-Chopper-II-p/nwsl-69-4.htm? Btw, I use one of those to cut [cross] ties for the HO scale track switches (turnouts) I build and hand lay. I'm sure it has many other uses as well.

Eddie2002
02-19-2018, 05:29 PM