PDA

View Full Version : 30-30 Reloading Help

EMR
02-17-2018, 03:26 PM
Mods please move this if this is in the wrong section.

This is my first rifle I’ve ever reloaded for which is why I’m seeking advice from the collective.

Using a NOE 311-180 (311041) I cast, PCd and made some dummy rounds for my Win 1894 AE in 30-30. Per my Lyman manual, I seated them to OAL of 2.510.

After cycling them though the gun, I noticed all of them had multiple flat spots around the circumference of the bullets. Since this is my first time reloading for rifle (and a lever gun at that), I don’t know if I’m hitting rifle lands or if I’m good to go?

There’s is a tiny bit of resistance felt as the receiver starts to close.

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180217/23a13654d8982a3d21cce9ef39f786e3.jpg

TNsailorman
02-17-2018, 05:38 PM
Did you resize those bullets after PC'ing them? If not they are going to be larger in diameter than .308 or .309. They might be large enough to be hitting the step at the throat of the cartridge case. That is what it looks like to me. james

Larry Gibson
02-17-2018, 05:43 PM
The PC increases the diameter including that of the nose. The lands are scraping the PC off the nose.

Motor
02-17-2018, 06:11 PM
The PC increases the diameter including that of the nose. The lands are scraping the PC off the nose.

Yep. This is another reason why I like the Lee 160gr 2R TL. Even when powder coated it's profile does not interfere with the lead. (The part of the chamber where the rifling starts)

I do flat point them for use in tubular magazines.

I really don't know what your easiest fix is. I'm personally in the bigger is better club when it comes to cast boolits but since I switched to powder coating I'm actually finding there is really no need.