PDA

View Full Version : Chronographs: Labradar. Looking for opinions from people who use it.

littlef
01-29-2018, 09:31 PM
I'm new to reloading. I'm looking at chronographs, so I can get a better idea of how my reloads will be performing.

The range I primarily use is a public range, where you have to shoot through a window. The range policies would make it pretty much impossible to use/set up a traditional light sensing chronograph.

In theory I think the Labradar unit would work really well for the range where I primarily shoot - But I'm worried about interference from the windows/walls/and overhead steel plates. Does anyone have experience using the labradar unit? - If so, what are your opinions on possible interference and bad readings due to the surroundings in these 2 photos?

country gent
01-29-2018, 11:23 PM
I have one and have been really impressed with it as to ease of set up, the range at which it works and accuracy. The bench mount might be able to sit on the ledge that's showing in front of the window in the 2nd pic. ( I would put a cord on it to help anchor it so it doesn't fall off). In this manner it would be pretty much normal use of it. If set back behind the window frame on a tripod it still may be normal for it, The beam is a cone small at the unit and expanding with distance so it may clear the window frame just fine on a tripod beside the bench. If not then you may have a slightly narrower beam and be ore precise in aiming the unit.

Our club has installed an overhead baffle to limit high shots and its 5' or so in front of the line. It doesn't affect mine as I can tell.

I really like mine and the data it gives me. velocity out to 200yds in 5 different set ranges on 38 rifle bullets and bigger, High low velocities, standard deviation and average, Extreme spread. Mine is set up on a tripod ( One of the old Jim Owens models) and works very well for me. We have used it during a match when a shooter was getting unexplained shots all over.

kayala