PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum vs Iron for a beginner caster

jamesp81
01-19-2018, 02:13 AM
I am still new to this. I have a few molds, most are Lee. I have one Accurate 5-cavity that is very nicely made.

Is it possible I've stunted my learning by using Aluminum? I find that I can never keep the temperature right. I'm either too frosty or wrinkled...or I've got hot and cold spots.

Would iron, with it's more even heat retention, be easier for an inexperienced caster to refine his talent with?

Yodogsandman
01-19-2018, 02:51 AM
Yes, I believe that iron molds are less touchy. Aluminum molds aren't that bad, though. Using a hot plate to pre-heat your mold would make a huge difference. Keep casting without checking or inspecting your bullets until you notice that they start to frost over. Then you can relax a little and keep an even cadence going. Good luck!

Rcmaveric
01-19-2018, 04:02 AM
I mostly use aluminum molds. You are right that they aren't the most temp stable. I dip the corner of the mold in the melt for 20 seconds to warm it. Then I have a wet sponge that I tap the mold to every 2 or 3 cast. I watch how long it takes the sprue to solidify. I will fall into a tempo. I got a couple iron molds a couple months back. I find they take longer to warm up but its much easier to keep slow steady tempo to keep the mold temp stable. I don't have to tap it on a wet sponge to keep it from getting too hot. I don't think its a short coming to use aluminum. For the price of lee molds, it is a great starting point. Principles are still the same. Once your good with that mold you will be good with iron molds after a slight adjustment. I do want to try a brass mold though.

Took me almost a year before I learned how to get consistent shiny bullets. I cast fast until I can work the sprue with a gloved hand. Then adjust the tempo to keep about at that zone.

fcvan
01-19-2018, 04:29 AM