PDA

View Full Version : Speaking of AR's, best dies?

Murphy
08-25-2008, 11:55 PM
Need to order some dies for my Homeland Security Rifle.

I'm a total newbie to loading for the AR15, but do know I'll be using a small base die.

Taper crimp or roll crimp into the cannelure?

All input will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Murphy

pincherpartner
08-26-2008, 12:21 AM
Welcome to the club, the AR club that it is.

I've had good luck with the Lee dies and for an extra measure of security I use their factory crimp die to crimp the case into the cannelure. When I was originally working up loads and testing variables it seemed like the crimped on bullets had smaller groups. I'm guessing because of a more consistent starting pressure since I was seating to a shorter OAL rather than just shy of the rifling. Your results may vary.

If you don't like Lee, then any of the die companies that you prefer should have a good choice. I'd still probably do the crimping in a separate step.

It's a great easy gun to reload for since there is no op rod to worry about bending.

garandsrus
08-26-2008, 12:24 AM
Murphy,

Which AR did you buy? What chamber does it have?

You should not need small base die's for an AR-15. The two I have are target models and have a Wylde chamber.

Most of the bullets I use don't have a cannelure so they don't get crimped. The bullets that do have one still don't get crimped. The neck tension should be enough to hold the bullet in place.

I use standard RCBS dies and have been happy with them. I did invest in a micrometer seater because I shoot 69, 77, and 80 gr bullets at different OAL's. I wanted to be able to easily return to a previous setting.

John

mike in co
08-26-2008, 12:33 AM
Need to order some dies for my Homeland Security Rifle.

I'm a total newbie to loading for the AR15, but do know I'll be using a small base die.

Taper crimp or roll crimp into the cannelure?

All input will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Murphy