PDA

View Full Version : Possible double charge??

xrider472
01-17-2018, 07:03 PM
I've been handloading for about 9 years now & casting boolits for about 8 years. Never an issue, til now. Shooting my New Vaquero 45 Colt a few days ago using 7.0 grains of Titegroup under the NOE 285-WFN. After 44 successful rounds, number 45 had considerable more blast, so I stopped to check things. I could not eject the brass. The gun looked fine. I don't recall any excessive recoil, just a louder report. According to Brian Pearce, 7.5 grains of the same powder is maximum at 14,000 psi under the RCBS 270-SAA boolit, which actually weighs 285 grains also with wheel weight alloy. With all that said, I was wondering if someone with the Quickload software could give me an estimation of what the pressure might be for a double charge of my 7 grain load? Thanks

Outpost75
01-17-2018, 07:04 PM
Too much!!!!

tazman
01-17-2018, 07:26 PM
A double charge of 14 grains should have damaged your gun.

Outpost75
01-17-2018, 07:35 PM
A double charge of 14 grains should have damaged your gun.

I've seen Ruger's digest some insane loads without blowing up...
While cylinder and topstrap may have held, I would expect a bulged chamber...

Did that to an original 1884 Trapdoor firing double-charge of 22 grs. of 700X and 370-grain bullet. No apparent external damage, but required a piece of 3/8" drill rod and 3 pound dead blow hammer to get case out and rifle from then on was a wall hanger. Actually sold it for more than I p[aid for it, even with non-firing red tag warning of bulged chamber. It now decorates a cowboy themed bar above the mirror.

Rcmaveric
01-17-2018, 07:41 PM