PDA

View Full Version : Alloy question

mart
11-21-2005, 02:38 PM
First post here guys, so be gentle. I have been casting for several years. I cast mostly wheel weight bullets for range work and small game but have 1/2 ton of linotype that I have cast some heavy LBT 41 and 44 bullets with. I hear conflicting stories about how brittle linotype can be. I now live in Alaska and carry a sidearm while fishing, birdhunting and hiking. I guess I am looking for some advice on linotype. I use a handgun as weapon of opportunity and expect to take a moose or bear with it some day. Has anyone got some real world moose, bear or other big game experience with linotype? If it is brittle, would it benifit from the addition of 2% tin? The few I have recovered from dirt banks sure didn't appear to be brittle but my experience with cast bullets on big game is limited (one whitetail, one cougar). Neither of which, although expired quickly, slowed the linotype down enough to tell if it was brittle. Thanks in advance for the help. Mart

454PB
11-21-2005, 03:12 PM
I also have a lot of linotype. I've never shot anything as tough as a moose with cast bullets, but some deer and smaller critters. However, I have done some penetration testing and also recovered bullets from range testing. I'm guessing that a straight linotype bullet fired at 1500 fps would penetrate without shattering unless you hit a really heavy bone in a really large animal. Even jacketed bullets will shatter in that kind of application. When I had my own shooting range, I had a stand with 3/8" steel gongs hanging from 1" heavy walled pipe. All handgun bullets shattered, but the straight linotype bullets actually turned to dust. There was quite a "ditch" cut at the bottom of the gong stand from this. Softer cast bullets flattened out to 3/4" round disks, and most then broke into pieces.