PDA

View Full Version : First PC'd boolits

44Blam
01-02-2018, 09:43 PM
I made my first PC boolits today! I need to cast some more so I can coat some more...

Anyway, I bought a little thing of Harbor Freight Red and a thing of Airsoft BBs. The first little fun thing was when I got the thing of airsoft BBs home, I found that there was a GUN IN THE CANISTER of BBs!!! Woot! (of course now I have those **** things everywhere)...

So, my first coating didn't really cover the boolits quite well enough, so I recoated and rebaked. They came out pretty decent looking. But I think I'm going to go ahead and buy the spray gun...And more colors...

These guys are 405 grn (actually they are 401-402 grn) and are sized to .460. I'm a little new to reloading for my 45-70, so I decided to do a ladder between Lee's recommendation of starting load and max. So, I'll shoot 'em and see!
Anyway, my wife came by while I was loading these and she said "aww, those are cute little lipsticks!". *Grumble* *Grumble* *Grumble*

RP
01-03-2018, 12:25 AM
When I first looked at the thread I saw the pistol and I was think what in the heck has this guy done to his pistol lol but a airsoft pistol its not bad looking. Other powders coat better then the HF I have not tried any of Smokes powders but the reports say they cover good with shake and bake. You may want to contact him I think he has a sample pack of colors.

I do not promote him or his product as a mod just trying to be helpful nothing to gain on my end or the site. This is the disclaimer part lol. Welcome to the PC world.

BTW my wife said the same thing about my 45/70 PC in red I told her if you got kissed by this lipstick it would be a bad day

44Blam
01-03-2018, 01:02 AM
LOL! That's what I was thinking when I was grumbling...

That little airsoft gun shoots pretty straight but a bit high. I plinked a couple cans while my PC was cooking... :)

RKJ
01-03-2018, 06:57 AM