PDA

View Full Version : 12 gauge hulls how many times can you reload them?

Adam604
08-22-2008, 02:00 PM
Hi Folks,

Adam604 here with a few questions...

I am somewhat new at shotgun shell reloading and all I reload are Lee 7/8 oz slugs in 12 gauge. I reload using a old 12 Gauge Lee Loader kit.

I've noticed that after reloading my hulls 3-4 times the primers are starting to show "blow by or gas leakage" around the primer pocket/primer joint and the primers are very easy to push out. So far I am not reusing the hulls that show "blow by".

My question is... I've seen a tool that is used to tighten up shotgun primer pockets so you can get more use out of them. Anyone use one of them?

You can see one here http://www.precisionreloading.com/specialtytools.htm

Precision Reloading Shotshell Primer Pocket Correction Tool™

Question #2 Roll Crimping ... Can you reload 12 gauge hulls that you have roll crimped? Can you roll crimp hulls that have been star crimped?

I am thinking of getting a roll crimper to try out. the STI version...

You can see one here http://www.precisionreloading.com/Rollcrimpers.htm

The reason for the questions... I do not have a source of once fired 12 gauge hulls and none of the shops around me carry much in the way of shotgun reloading supplies. Buying 100 packs of 12 gauge shells just to get the hulls is getting expensive... And shipping rates to order hulls online is not much of a savings over buying loaded shells at Walmart

missionary5155
08-22-2008, 02:34 PM
I reload mine until the folded area begins to crack apart in the folds... about 4 reloads using my crowload.
Black powder (90 grains FF) seems to eat my hulls up faster and I get 3 reloads.

oneokie
08-22-2008, 05:57 PM
No experience with the primer pocket correction tool.