PDA

View Full Version : Patch Thickness

missionary5155
08-22-2008, 05:33 AM
I have been Coal Burning for34 years. I bought a .45 kit in 1974 and finished it that fall. Shot my first deer with my .58 Zouve and been at it ever since with various tools of the trade. I have played with patch thinness and patch material... and Thought I would ask you.. What it the THICKEST patch and material you have SUCESSFULLY used in calibers .54 and LARGER ? I started playing with the thought and got to wool Army blanket (OD color 1954) ...
:coffee:

Kuato
08-22-2008, 05:43 AM
Thickest I've used was in a 54 cal. with a .530 ball I used a .018 patch made out of pillow ticking. I went back to .015 cuz the balls were a bear to get down the bore after 1 shot without cleaning. Accuracy wasn't worth the trouble either. Shot just about the same.

I use straight black. For consistency, I compress the load a bit & thats about it.

Maven
08-22-2008, 08:29 AM
missionary...., You may want to try a medium weight denim fabric; i.e., one that isn't as heavy as blue jean denim, but not as light as a [chambray] work shirt either. If I recall, the stuff that I bought measured ~0.022" thick, but would grudgingly compress to ~0.018".

missionary5155
08-22-2008, 09:18 AM
Maven.. That should work pretty well... I had thought about the blue jeans double thick... could near get a .54 into ny .69... and still get a descent seal....
Just thought it would be an interesting route to go... what if all I had was my .69 and some .50 or .54 caliber... would it really matter...
And Black only.. FF

shdwlkr
08-23-2008, 08:28 AM
Missionary