PDA

View Full Version : Different bullet weights in fixt sight handguns

robert12345
12-21-2017, 02:06 PM
I am soon to be the proud new owner of a Montreal Canada police surplus, Smith Wesson, Model 10 heavy barrel; ..38 caliber revolver.
Me, I have been shooting sixguns for 50 years, and in that time, I have only adjusted only one pistol sight, ..one time, ..it was on an old Hi Standard, .44 magnum Crusader revolver.
Note to self:
Heavy bullets shoot high.
Light bullets shoot low.
My interest in the model 10 heavy barrel, is using this revolver as a belt gun on my hikes, and shooting just one reload; maybe 38 wad cutters, or 160 grain LBT flat point , or the old Thompson 155 grain gas check.

One bullet, one re-load, ..at about 950 fps, using between 5.5 to 6 grains of Unique.

Old age has taught me, " beware of the on gun man," ....and I will add to that, "especially if he shoots just one reload..."
Questions of curiosity:
Will these different loads print differently at 25 years ? ( I would like my one chosen re- load to "cut center" at 25 yards)

Will the difference be enough to notice ?

Has anybody here done any testing using a different bullet weights at roughly the same velocity, and how they shoot on paper at 25 yards, in fixed sight revolvers ?

Outpost75
12-21-2017, 02:29 PM
Your 5.5 to 6 grains of Unique is +P. If you want your Model 10 to stay tight I would drop the charge back to 5 grains for steady use with a 155-160 grain bullet with minimum ctg. OAL of 1.45". Save the hotter loads for field use. You will find point of impact more dependent upon bullet weight than velocity.

I would drop the charge even further to 4.5 grains for loading a full-charge wadcutter with a DEWC bullet similar to the Saeco #348 at an OAL of 1.2". In a 4" gun with cylinder gap at Mean Assembly Tolerance (pass 0.005/hold 0.006) this will give 855 +/- 30 fps, which is a full charge load, warmer than factory standard velocity, but not +P.