PDA

View Full Version : Paper hulls

richhodg66
11-29-2017, 10:15 PM
How does a guy go about reloading these?

I just got back from a guy who advertised a bunch of 16 gauge stuff locally he is selling for a neighbor's widow. Among a ton of other 16 gauge stuff were hundreds of new, primed, paper hulls that had never had a crimp on them. Seems like an awfully good deal for someone who knows how to do it.

I am just beginning to delve into 16 gauge loading as I have a couple now and anything besides #8 loads seem hard to find. I walked out of this deal tonight with enough heavy #6 field loads that I may not need to reload for it for a long time.

WebMonkey
11-29-2017, 10:55 PM
A crimp starter will help "crease" the folds. Otherwise, follow the load data for paper hulls.
crimp starters are usually somewhere on the press.
:)

Cowboy_Dan
11-30-2017, 07:16 AM
You may be hard pressed to find loads for paper 16 ga shells. Just looked through my loadbooks and only found data for paper Federals in the 1972 1st edition of the Lyman shotshell manual. May find more data from the powder manufacturers.

richhodg66
11-30-2017, 07:35 AM
You may be hard pressed to find loads for paper 16 ga shells. Just looked through my loadbooks and only found data for paper Federals in the 1972 1st edition of the Lyman shotshell manual. May find more data from the powder manufacturers.

Yeah, I was afraid of that. Sure seems like an awful waste of them, but they probably won't ever get used by anybody.

Randy C
11-30-2017, 08:19 AM
email ballistics Products they send me load recipes' when I ask, I would bet I have the reload books at home, But I'm sure powders have change over the years.

rking22
11-30-2017, 09:25 AM