PDA

View Full Version : shooting with glasses

sandman228
11-29-2017, 12:19 PM
well I'm not quite sure where on forum to post this so I figured I would try here . ive been noticing some difficulty seeing and reading lately .I'm a sandblaster by trade and also have noticed more difficulty doing my job . I'm 46 yrs old and haven't had an eye exam for about 10 years and was told at my last eye exam that I had a stigmatism in my left eye .I'm also a lefty and do pretty much all with left hand . so I went for an eye exam last night and while being questioned by the examiner one of the things I brought up was I'm not as good of a shot as I used to be . after I reassured her I'm not a terrorist or animal killer just someone who enjoys gun collecting and recreational shooting she tells me she hears this allot (not able to shoot as well as used to ) so after the exam is over she tells me I need bifocals she says actually my eye muscles are very strong for my age but my stigmatism is basically throwing things off .she recommended progressive lenses and tells me that as far as target shooting goes it will bring the target in nice and clear for me but I may have trouble seeing the sights on the gun close up . during all this I'm thinking I'm going from never wearing glasses in my life straight to bifocals wow ! so my preferred method of shooting is 25 yrds bench rested arms fully extended shooting off a rest usually with a revolver. occasionally I shoot semi auto pistol or revolver off hand standing at 7/10 yrds I have no trouble seeing target or having very good accuracy with short range but with my revolvers at 25 yrds I'm slipping . my question is for you shooters who wear bifocals if your able to see target well at 25 yrds how much trouble do you have being able to see sights shooting like I mentioned . also I don't know if this will make a difference or not but ive been told I have fairly long arms fully extended from armpit to tip of middle finger my arms are just over 3