PDA

View Full Version : many questions

lordgroom
08-17-2008, 10:04 PM
I am fairly new to casting. I have just casted for my fourth session last night for 2 new calibers, 45-70 (45 300 FN) and 8mm (323470 AV). I have a sporterized 98K and a Marlin 1895 new in the past 2 years.

1- How do I determine the sizing die to use for each bullet? I assume I will have to slug the barrel. Then what? What do I add to the measurement for a cast bullet? Is there another method?

2-Can I use one of the bullets I cast to slug the barrel?

3-What are typical sizing dies and top punches used for these calibers?

4-When reloading for the 45-70 using Unique, my Lyman Cast load data states I should use a Dacron Wad. Where is a good source for Dacron or can I use something else, perhaps some material I already have?

5-What about Cream of Wheat? Will this work and if so do I have to fill the case to compress the load?

6-When lubing. How many of the bands do I fill with lube? If there are 2 do I fill both or will one suffice? I ask this because I friend told me to fill only one lube groove for a bullet in another caliber.

7-Should I seat a bullet to embed in the rifling or slightly back? Again, I have a friend who told me to seat all bullets into the rifling for best accuracy, but I read an article that said don’t do this with the 45-70.

Any help you have is greatly appreciated.

docone31
08-17-2008, 10:40 PM
An awful lot of those questions are in the threads in this forum.
I go .002 over slug diameter for rifle. My .30 cal, I size .311.
I use bolt guns, but I single feed them. I set my castings so they just touch the rifling.
I do not use any filler.
Read as much as you can. It helps get the feeling for the final casting. Read, read, then read some more.
The only stupid question is the one not asked and acted upon.
I have about driven these folks on this forum nuts with my questions. No one has given me an hard time about it.
I got some real help here.

mooman76
08-17-2008, 11:43 PM