PDA

View Full Version : New pastime

Lead pot
11-18-2017, 05:39 PM
Since I got my Master build smoker I been putting it through the works :)
I smoked just about everything and my wife likes my new pastime to take the what am I going to make for supper tonight away :)
I been keeping the freezer full of Buffalo meat for the last seven years plus the venison I harvest sure puts the smoker to use, especially the Jerky and sausage I like to make, by the way, since we haven't bought beef my Cholesterol is a none issue that I'm off the pills that gave me terrible headaches.
One smoked dinner I really took a liking to above the usual way of making meatloaf it is fill a bread loaf pan full of ground Bison and pack it down so it's like a brick when I turn the pan upside down on the rack and lift the pan off. I been injecting different marinates you name it from honey mustard mixes to what ever, but roasted garlic and herbs sure suits me. :) Put it in early afternoon under 240 degrees and apple chips for smoke.........Kurt

MaryB
11-18-2017, 09:26 PM
Smoked meatloaf is hands down my favorite way to make it. I use grass fed organic beef so it is not a cholesterol issue like feedlot beef is.

CASTER OF LEAD
11-18-2017, 09:34 PM
Y'all are making fatter all the time. Lol. That sounds outstanding. SMOKED meatloaf is in my very near future. Thanks Kurt. - CASTER

country gent
11-18-2017, 09:39 PM
I did smoked frog legs a few years ago marinated them over night and under 240* with mestique chips then when about done a coating of barbeque sauce and finshed when tender. I think it was a woshteshire sauce brown sugar mix I marinated them in. Simple and easy to do. Was very good.

Lead pot
11-18-2017, 10:59 PM
Hey Gent I haven't seen big bull frogs since I was a kid :)

country gent
11-18-2017, 11:09 PM
We see a few on the farm ponds and resivoirs here but those were farm raised somewhere. They were good and didnt need skinned either LOL

CASTER OF LEAD
11-19-2017, 12:09 AM