PDA

View Full Version : 9mm is very annoying

wulfman92
10-15-2017, 10:16 AM
Hello all,

Here is my 9mm casting story. Started off the spring of '17 buying a Glock 34 and wanted to shoot a little IDPA with it. I've reloaded enough 9mm to supply a small army, but moved to casting the projectiles for the obvious savings. Got myself a Lee 6 cavity 124 grain truncated cone tumble lube mold simply because my brother had good luck with it. WHAT A MISTAKE. I pushed them out with 3.0 grains of Clay's and used Smoke's powder coat in lieu of lube . You'd think I'd be a locksmith by trade with all the keyholes I had to deal with. Well some of us learn slower than others, so I kept trying to figure something out. Nothing like keyholing at a match and looking like an a$$hole! I also was blessed with a bouncing baby boy this June, so my time to diagnose the situation properly was limited as well. As time went on I bought a Lee 6 cavity 120 grain truncated cone with the lube groove. Improved my situation greatly, very accurate. Still have some dinking around to do with it. I've learned that if I bell my case too much to get the lead boolit in and not swage it down, that it will make my plunk test fail. Not really looking for advice, but I'll sure take some if you share it. Figured I'd share my life story to finally have a post!

Good Day

Love Life
10-15-2017, 10:22 AM
Doesn’t taper crimping within SAAMI spec remove the bell? Or are you saying that even after crimping, your rounds are to fat to pass the plunk test?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gnostic
10-15-2017, 10:24 AM
You didn't say, how big are your bullets? If they're less than .358, they'll likely lead the barrel and keyhole. I'm sure it happens, but I've never known anyone, to have success with tumble lube design bullets...

wulfman92
10-15-2017, 10:33 AM