PDA

View Full Version : Question on handles

Gunners Mate
10-15-2017, 01:00 AM
Ok so yep I am new to casting bullets but here is stupid question # 1

are different Manufactures brand handles interchangeable with different manufactures molds and is there a difference between 2 cavity mold handles to say six cavity mold handles and what are the best. I am looking for handles for an RCBS mold 35-200

hunter74
10-15-2017, 04:52 AM
Some are.....

Lee fits on NOE and some others. RCBS and Lyman are not interchangeable and they need their own handles.

Sent fra min SM-G930F via Tapatalk

I know Lymans nutcracker handles are different for 4 and 2 cav moulds. I'm not sure about rcbs

Gunners Mate
10-15-2017, 09:17 AM
Thanks

Dusty Bannister
10-15-2017, 09:25 AM
Here is a link to a "sticky" in the molds section of the forum.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?154184-Lee-6-Cavity-Handle-interchange-Use-list

keyhole
10-15-2017, 09:42 AM
First of all, your question is not a stupid one.
According to their website, RCBS handles part no. 80025 fit all their molds. At least in my experience, RCBS handles are built heavier and are more trouble-free than those of Lyman and Lee. The wood grips of the Lyman handles have a tendency to slip off and need to be drilled and pinned to stay in place. If you compare the thickness of the steel of the RCBS/Lee/Lyman handles the RCBS are noticeably thicker. Of course, Lee molds are aluminum so may not need as much support metal in the handles. All in all, however, the RCBS are just more substantial. I recommend using RCBS handles on your RCBS mold.

keyhole

JMax
10-15-2017, 11:48 AM
I have two older Lyman 2 cavity handles and drilled two new holes and use them on two of my NOE 2 cavity molds. It is best to buy handles for the molds that you own but I would not own Lee handles as the NOE versions are better made and have the wooden handle already pinned IMHO.

dikman
10-15-2017, 06:03 PM