08-10-2008, 12:48 PM
.44mag

using bulk bullets
200 gr.lswc
6.5 trailboss
i fired 4 groups of 6 shots @25 yds. from bags
1.88 in.
my average
i compared my results with the tests AMERICAN RIFLEMAN conducted and realized mine aint bad at all.
A.R.'s results
averages
2.02 black hills240 jhp
2.30 win.250 partition gold
2.65 speer 270 gold dot jsp
A.R. used 5 shots from a ransom rest

unclebill
08-10-2008, 01:01 PM
im pretty new at this so i didnt know if i should be happy with these results or not.
then when i got the targets home and realized that my new gun was on the cover of A.R. with their results inside .
i cheered right up!

targetshootr
08-10-2008, 04:04 PM
Sounds good. I shot mine today and it shoots as well as any of my others and once I get the trigger right it'll be even better.

44man
08-10-2008, 04:57 PM
Oh my! :roll: Bring that gun over here and I will get 1" or less at 50 yd's.
Why are you using a 200 gr boolit? A 240 is the starting point and 300 to 330 will work better. Rugers love heavy boolits and slow powders.

unclebill
08-10-2008, 05:50 PM
Why are you using a 200 gr boolit? A 240 is the starting point and 300 to 330 will work better. Rugers love heavy boolits and slow powders.

why you ask?
because i didnt know any better so i got 1000 of them.:confused:

unclebill
08-10-2008, 05:58 PM
bullet drop
24.35 in. @ 100 yds.

Bullet: 200 GR. LRNFP Dia. .430" COL: 1.570"
Trail Boss 6.1 890 17,900 PSI 7.7 988 20,700 PSI

unclebill
08-10-2008, 06:00 PM
p.s.
every one of my manuals have data for 200gr.
thats prolly what sold me on em

9.3X62AL
08-10-2008, 08:35 PM
No "problem" with 200 grainers in the 44 caliber revos, and yours seems to like them right well. The 240-250 grain SWC has been my longtime favorite in both 44 Special and 44 Magnum, but inheritance of a wide-grooved 44-40 WCF carbine prompted purchase of a couple 44 caliber/200 grain-class moulds--the Lee 200 grain round flat nose and (later on) a SAECO #446.