PDA

View Full Version : What gauge for micrometer

sutherpride59
10-12-2017, 10:08 AM
So we all have some tool for measuring our boolits to make sure of this or that but what kind of gauge should be used to calibrate our micrometers and calipers to make sure they are in spec?

str8wal
10-12-2017, 11:16 AM
I close them, set to zero, and measure away....

mdi
10-12-2017, 11:42 AM
I too just check for "zero", gently. I've been using micrometers off and on since 1968 and rarely found a need to check against "go blocks" (when I was working in a machine shop measuring to .0005" I dropped a mike and needed to check it ). Since I don't use my mikes like a c-clamp I've never had any good micrometers loose accuracy...

williamwaco
10-12-2017, 12:26 PM
I check zero then check a 224 and a 308 match grade bullet. I keep the "gauge" bullets forever. This will not tell me if the instrument is dead on accurate but it will tell me if it has changed.

Ole Joe Clarke
10-12-2017, 12:31 PM
You can buy standards to set them by. If the micrometer is in good shape, clean the faces of the checking surfaces, gently "zero" them out and adjust if needed. A small spanner wrench is required.

Have a blessed day,

Leon

W.R.Buchanan
10-12-2017, 01:29 PM
Typically when calibrating a o-1" mic you would make the adjustment by closing the mic and making the adjustment.

If you are measuring stuff that is closer to 1" then using a 1" standard would be more accurate.

Older micrometers do vary sometimes. Newer quality ones ,,, not so much. Pretty much anything is going to be accurate enough for measuring boolits.

Randy

country gent
10-12-2017, 01:55 PM