PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else have problems with Hi-Tek coating?

TonyN
09-25-2017, 08:04 PM
I can't get this stuff to bond with WW . I got it to bond on pure lead but i can't get it to bond on WW.

Ausglock
09-25-2017, 10:04 PM
Good chance your WW is contaminated with something and preventing bonding.
Check your alloy and process.

lsippell
09-26-2017, 02:17 AM
I've been using the Hi-Tek for about 3 years now and have about 4 different alloys of lead from a real hard mixture with a lot of Linotype in it to to my most recent batch which is mostly WW with some pure lead (maybe 5%) and a small amount of zinc (I know, I should have caught it but didn't) that cast's and shoots fine though.
I use the powdered Hi-Tek and have never had a problem with it sticking an any thing (I think it would make a good glue). I do wash all that I cast with Dawn dish washing detergent and rinse well before coating. I've even sized them and then coated and resized and have never had a problem.
I am meticulous about the amount I mix for a set weight of bullets though. 2g of powder, 10ml acetone for each coat on 8# of bullets.
Let then dry after 20 seconds of shaking in a plastic coffee can, warm up convection oven that has a PID temp controller on it to 385 degrees and bake for 8 minutes.

Grmps
09-26-2017, 03:18 AM
lsippell It's not recommended to size boolits before applying the first layer of Hi-Tek. Hi-Tek is technically a stain and needs a porous surface to adhere properly.

There are members using a little zinc to help harden an alloy.

Tony make sure your lead is well fluxed in the smelting process. Like Trevor said, it sounds like a contamination problem.

dikman
09-26-2017, 03:27 AM
If it's bonding to pure lead then your processes are working fine. If it won't bond to the WW then it must be contaminated with something.

ioon44
09-26-2017, 08:42 AM