PDA

View Full Version : Misfires with IMR4198, Allox Lube and Cast Bullets in 45-70 Marlin 1895's

Glacierwolf
09-03-2017, 06:54 PM
I have no clue why two brand new Marlin 1895's, both stainless, one a 4 shot other a 6 shot model - are giving me so much grief with cast bullets! I have been casting since 1986 for 44mag, 357, 45acp, 480 Ruger pistol and 308 Win, 338 Win, and most recently 223 and 300 Blackout with no troubles. For rifle I lube in a plastic bag with Allox, let dry, then use the Lee Size kit, and re-Allox and let dry a few days. To prevent the finished bullet from being sticky I dust them with Mica powder. This is all old hat for me.

So, imagine my surprise when my first batch of 45-70's have 50% duds and disable both rifles with lead stuck in the barrel. Good primer strikes. One round went, 'fwoomp' and I could see the lead going down range. The lead on ones that sound like a complete misfire - I hear just a click - they have exited the case and gone a tiny bit into the lands and grooves. As if it has ignition but a failure to ignite the powder. The mess of unburnt powder from these rounds all over the receiver - sometimes comes out looking like a Rice Krispy treat and is stuck together.

Yesterday I made a batch of Hornady 250 Monolithic 45-70's. When I finished that batch I used the same batch of primed brass, powder (just a smaller charge of I-4198), and cast projectiles. Today at the range 100% of the Hornday fired fine (as expected) but after one good round of cast, the next two were duds and disabled both rifles with lead stuck in the barrels.

None of my books are calling for magnum primers with cast 45-70 300 or 400 grain. I suppose this is something I could try.
My 338 and 30 cal cast rounds - most using 4350 and A-1680 never had an issue.

Since all things are equal - and the only difference is Allox....... I am thinking Allox and 4198 do not play well together. Perhaps this is the 'big guy' telling me to try paper patching?