PDA

View Full Version : I'm going to Maine!

380AUTO
09-03-2017, 02:38 PM
Ladies and gentlemen I'm a young non commissioned officer in the U.S. Army. I recently came down on orders to be a recruiter for Uncle Sam and got assigned to a Armed forces career center completely opposite of home (I'm from California) But as the title says I'm going to the twin cities of Auburn/Lewiston area in the state of Maine. I'm really looking forward to seeing what the state has to offer I'm huge into fishing/hunting. Never been there but it looks beautiful in pictures. Any Mainer's on this forum?

ogre
09-03-2017, 02:50 PM
I lived in Kittery for two years while my submarine was in overhaul. I never had too much time off but I thoroughly enjoyed living there. I remember that the lobsters and steamers seamed dirt cheap. I found the winters to be a trifle cold.

opos
09-03-2017, 03:28 PM
I spent a great deal of time in Kennebunkport on business a number of years ago...it's a great area and a great little harbor and I think you can probably jump a party boat out of there if I recall...if you have your Wife with you there is a wonderful B and B (now..it was a private residnece when I was there) called the Maine Stay Inn in Kennebunk...If you go there take a walk around the "widows walk" on top...lots of national registry homes in that area.

https://youtu.be/T4cg2tH_h2g

thegatman
09-03-2017, 03:49 PM
Enjoy Maine. Vacationed there three years. Great state. Cabelas an LL Bean. Lobster rolls the best.

Taylor
09-03-2017, 04:01 PM
See next summer for lobster Fest.

Wayne Smith
09-03-2017, 04:13 PM