PDA

View Full Version : Help, wrinkles.

Casull
08-31-2017, 04:23 PM
New member here. I've been lurking and learning here for awhile, but this is my first post. With all the knowledge I've seen expressed here, I'm sure someone can a help a new fellow caster. I've been shooting and reloading for about 35 years, but recently decided to pursue the cast boolit. Problem is that I'm getting wrinkled boolits. I know that is usually an indicator of not enough tin or too cold a mold, but I don't think that is the problem. Here is my setup: Lee 10lb bottom pour furnace running at about "7"; Lee six cavity 310 grain round flat nose mold that I "beagled" to get the diameter up to about .434; alloy of about 4 parts pure lead to 1 part foundry type (which should put my alloy at about 3% tin, 4.5% antimony and 92.5% lead). The boolits are coming out wrinkled even as they get hot enough to "sizzle" when dropped in water. The wrinkles aren't what I would call excessive, but I've been remelting them because I just want better looking bullets. The kicker is that when the mold gets hot enough that the bullets come out lightly frosted, they are filling the cavities very well and producing beautifully formed "keepers". Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

robg
08-31-2017, 04:34 PM
Frosted. Is fine ,as long as the bases are good should be fine

DerekP Houston
08-31-2017, 04:41 PM
Have you tried degreasing the mold again? I usually get bad wrinkles for a few casts if any type of oil gets in the cavities. I'm a little too liberal with the sprue plate lube. Scrub it out with *hot* water and dawn.

Casull
08-31-2017, 04:42 PM
Yeah, the problem is two fold. First, I don't know why I can't get "shiny" boolits to come out of the mold like that, and two, when the mold gets hot enough to start frosting the boolits, they don't drop out as easily.

Casull
08-31-2017, 04:45 PM