PDA

View Full Version : Stuck lathe chuck...help!!!

Typecaster
07-31-2008, 02:17 PM
I couldn't pass up a South Bend 9-in. lathe last year (the ways still show all frosting) even though I already had a Logan. Other than tarnish, the only problem with the SB is a stuck 4-jaw chuck. I've been squirting it with magic penetrating oil for 6 months to no avail.

I don't want to cut it off because it's the same thread as the little Logan...so I could use it on either one.

I think it could just be over-torqued, or a little rust at the spindle shoulder. Either way, I think it's so tight that the penetrating oil can't get past the shoulder.

I don't want to screw up the back gear. If I hit the boss of the chuck with the torch, would that expand it a bit...without ruining the spindle?

Any suggestions?

Richard

lathesmith
07-31-2008, 02:48 PM
Type, Take a piece of hex stock--say, 1" or bigger x 3" or so long-- and mill 4 flats on the sides, maybe halfway up the length. Chuck this as tight as you can in the 4-jaw, get you a 1/2" or bigger impact wrench, and use the impact wrench on the hex stock with a socket. I guarantee you WILL break it loose this way, IF you have a big enough impact wrench. It shouldn't damage a thing, either.
Good luck,
lathesmith

Morgan Astorbilt
07-31-2008, 03:44 PM
For this purpose, you can hold large enough hex stock in a 4-jaw just the way it is. The jaws will hold two adjoining flats on each side with two opposing flats free.
Morgan

mike in co
07-31-2008, 04:24 PM
home made impact...

take a piece of solid bar..any shape 1 1/2 " or bigger,about 2-3 feet long, chuck it on the face of the chuck, between a couple of jaws.( 90 degrees from the centerline)
with it sticking out give it a solid whack with a bmfh........thats a single impact...if more needed do so. dont do a ton of pounding in anyone position....dont want to beat the bearing races.

mike in co

gzig5
07-31-2008, 10:30 PM