PDA

View Full Version : How much above groove size can you shoot in a .40 S&W?

Greg G
07-29-2017, 11:04 PM
I have a new .40 mold that is dropping at .403". Can I shoot them "as - is" or Should I size them? It's a Glcok model 22 with a stock barrel. I also have a bar-sto barrel for it that is .400" groove diameter.

Thanks?

DougGuy
07-29-2017, 11:10 PM
It doesn't matter about the groove diameter it matters about the throat diameter. Likely a .403" won't chamber but you can seat one and see if it will plunk. Some of the Glocks have some pretty generous freebore in the throat, so give it a try. Since the boolit also makes the shoulder of the loaded round larger, this can make it too big to chamber fully if the chamber itself is on the tight side, as in a match grade barrel where all the dimensions are minimal.

Greg G
07-29-2017, 11:15 PM
It didn't chamber at first, so I made a tool to ream the cases to .401" only far back enough for the bullet to seat. (I'm a hard headed machinist).

tazman
07-30-2017, 12:21 AM
What DougGuy said is correct.
Basically the chamber/throat sets the limit. If it will chamber, it will shoot.
I have a Beretta 92FS that will chamber boolits sized .360, which really shouldn't be possible, but it does. And it shoots them just fine.
I have a Springfield Armory, Range Officer 9mm which has a much tighter chamber. It will only accept boolits up to .358, and those need to be perfect.
So I need to make sure of what ammunition I am using in the Range Officer since the Beretta will accept anything.
The same sort of thing applies to the 40 you have.
Chamber dimensions vary quite a bit from manufacturers. Experiment a bit. Let the gun tell you what it likes.

Greg G
07-30-2017, 02:24 AM
What DougGuy said is correct.
Basically the chamber/throat sets the limit. If it will chamber, it will shoot.
I have a Beretta 92FS that will chamber boolits sized .360, which really shouldn't be possible, but it does. And it shoots them just fine.