PDA

View Full Version : Learning the Hard way

Bazoo
07-19-2017, 12:56 AM
I am wondering who else here has learned, or is learning without having the luxury of a tutor.

gwpercle said in the casters age thread, http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?339006-Casters-ages-with-a-more-uniform-scale/page2 Post #38

in part,

"In 1967 I was 17, a high school senior , bought Lyman #358156 1-cavity mould, small cast iron pot dipper, and their Cast Bullet Handbook . Then proceeded to teach myself the hard way.
Not one other person I knew reloaded ammo much less cast ."

That describes very close to the way I am learning. I dont have anyone to teach me, except I have the blessing of this forum, and of the internet to research problems and learn from others mistakes.

I do know a few folks that reload, and cast. However, they are folks I met on forums and live too far to help me, Or, are not close enough friends to be willing to give me any of their time.

Im still learning all the intricacies, still reading a lot about it, and still asking dumb questions. I do make some nice bullets though, and that wouldnt be possible without the help I've received from all the folks here on castboolits. Thanks to everyone here, past and present.

~Bazoo

shoot-n-lead
07-19-2017, 01:29 AM
I learned everything the hard way...no mentor/tutor.

Just be proud that nowadays you have the INTERNET...probably better than a tutor.

MyFlatline
07-19-2017, 07:02 AM
I learned from Books and the Internet, no one to tutor me either.

square butte
07-19-2017, 07:09 AM
I learned on the kitchen stove casting round ball when I wasn't supposed to be learning - Then I learned over a wood fire in the back yard

trapper9260
07-19-2017, 07:40 AM