PDA

View Full Version : 1874 Sharps 45-70 accuracy concerns

shafer44
06-06-2017, 06:59 PM
Ok, so I am still learning about my Pedersoli 1874 Sharps 45-70. From help or suggestions on this site, I have added Creedmoor type tang sight, Hadley eye cup, started using the lollipop type front aperature, and have just started using a NOE RD type 460-350gr FN boolit (i got the 5 cavity and love it). Well, my shots at 50 yds are great, they tear the center out of the target. However, even using a Caldwell lead sled which is a pretty solid rest, at 100 yds, I am all over the place. I may get 2 or 3 shots within 2-3", but then the next is off to one side, down or whatever. I do not believe I am jerking the trigger, because when you have the DST, once you set the trigger, it is almost always a surprise when it goes off, which is what you want. I have not tried other powders, that is the one thing that I am wondering about. I started and have stayed with IMR 3031 since I had an 8lb can of it. As far as pressures, this is one of the best for low pressure. I do have a 1# can of AA 5744 and I have yet to try it. Can powder cause that much difference in accuracy? Using QuickLoad, and loading for 1430 fps, the imr 3031 is about 10000 psi and AA5744 is about 11000, which is fine and IMR 3031 is 38 gr. compared to 25gr AA5744. Can anyone else comment on their use of these two powders and their conclusion as to whether accuracy is better for one or the other of these powders? Thanks.

NSB
06-06-2017, 08:36 PM