PDA

View Full Version : Fitting the boollits in a lever action ?

toallmy
05-28-2017, 03:16 PM
This will be my first attempt to load 'cast boolits' in a lever although I have loaded jacket in my old 30-30 Winchester for 20-30 years . I have been studying on the subject for a while , and came to the conclusion that at 50 years of age I better just get started . I have been casting for a couple years and relies I have a brick for a head , and by choice I generally do everything the hard way and the wrong way over and over , but this seams to help me remember what not to do at least . Throughout my lifetime I have used a magic marker , or a split case to find max OAL , but this doesn't help with fitting the chubby boolits . I am going to use NOE 311-041 gc in a trimmed case expanded to .308 and flared to .312 after full length resized . My brass previously fired is open up to .312 so I tried a few unsized cast boolits in resized brass that were cast at .312 wile I set up my dies to seat the boollit at the deepest I could wile still using the crimp grove and they chamber fine . After I did a few dummy rounds to try chamber fit I pulled the dummy rounds and found the boollits to be squeezed down to .3105-311 so that should be fine . I know I should do a pound cast of the chamber and slug the bore but I just can't bring myself to use a hammer around my guns . If you gentlemen could let me know What have I done wrong so far I will try to correct it wile I wait for some gas checks to come in . Sorry about the writing a book post .

sghart3578
05-28-2017, 03:38 PM
If the bullets chamber fine at .312" and crimped at the crimp groove you will be fine.

I load for four Marlin lever actions and that is how I do it. I get excellent accuracy also.

Don't bother with a pound cast on a lever action. The reason most guys do a pound cast is to measure the throat and to see where the rifling engages.